Thursday, December 13, 2018

THE THIEF OF ALL LIGHT by Bernard Schaffer


This review first appeared in Library Journal and is published here with permission. 


     Real-life police detective Bernard Schaffer makes his traditional publishing debut with this thriller set in rural Pennsylvania. Carrie Santero is a young, eager patrol officer, but the pace just isn’t fast enough, and she’ll do about anything to get an assignment on the revered County Detective squad. But when one murder becomes two, and the likelihood of a serial killer becomes evident, she discovers perhaps the detective work she craved is more than she can handle. 

     Schaffer’s knowledge of detective work, particularly the toll it takes on those tasked with it, is evident. Throughout the book, he dives deeply in the psyche of the police detective, the inner angst, frustrations, and doubts; working to get in the minds of the criminals they’re trying to catch while staying on the right side of the darkness, and dealing with the guilt and desperation that often results.

     VERDICT: Strong on the emotional struggles of police detectives, a bit weak on personal dialogue and as a police procedural. Would likely appeal to fans of Brian Freeman, JA Kerley, and Meg Gardiner


Schaffer, Bernard. The Thief of All Light, Kensington Books, July 31, 2018. 
ISBN: 978-1496717139



A copy of The Thief of All Light was provided by the publisher via Library Journal. No compensation was provided for this review. 

No comments: